You're reading Help for the Yandex app on Android.
Help for the Yandex Start app on Android →
Help for the Yandex app on iOS →

Syncing data

Syncing is the exchange of data between Yandex apps and browsers on your devices. For intermediate data storage, the Yandex server is used. The data is passed to it over a secure channel, while passwords are passed in an encrypted format. The data on the server is protected by the Yandex authorization system. Syncing allows you to access data from all your devices and restore data if your device is lost or broken.

How syncing works

After you enable syncing, data will be synced each time you change data that is stored on the server. For example, when you save a password on your device, the app sends it to the server and simultaneously downloads all the changes made on your other devices since the last sync.

Syncing lets you:

  • Use the password and card manager on your synced devices (automatic password entry, encrypted password storage, recovery of site access if you forget your master password).
  • View history on your synced devices.
  • Recover passwords, card information, autofill data, and history, even if something happens to your device.

You can turn off syncing or adjust the list of data to sync at any time when using the browser.

Enable syncing

In order for syncing to work you have to:

To enable syncing:

  1. On the home screen, tap Log In.

  2. Select the account you want, or tap Add account and enter your Yandex login and password. This will enable syncing.

    Tip

    If you aren't registered on Yandex, tap Register and fill out the account information.

  3. On the home screen, tap  → App settings.

  4. In the My data section, tap Manage data.

  5. Make sure that all options are enabled in the Data stored in your account section.

Change the list of data to sync

  1. On the home screen, tap  → App settings.
  2. In the My data section, tap Manage data.
  3. Disable or enable any options (Passwords and cards, Bookmarks, Personal data, and History).
  4. To sync history, go to the General section and select Sync history.

Disable syncing

  1. On the home screen, tap  → App settings.
  2. In the My data section, tap Manage data.
  3. Disable all options.
  4. To disable history syncing, go to the General section and disable the Sync history option.
Go to the table of contents
Contact support