Permissions

When you verify your site management rights, you can view how the site pages are indexed by the Yandex robot. Because this data may contain confidential information, Yandex has to be sure that you have the rights to manage that site. To verify your rights you need to make changes to the site.

The site owner might change. For this reason, Yandex regularly checks for changes confirming the site management rights. If it doesn't detect the necessary changes, the site is considered “unconfirmed” again.

Verification of rights can take up to 24 hours.

  1. Verifying the site rights
    1. Simplified verification of rights
    2. Changing the rights verification method
  2. Delegating rights
  3. Moving data to another account
  4. Resetting another user's rights

Verifying the site rights

If you have several sites, you have to verify the rights for each site separately. To confirm your rights to the site subdomains, use the simplified scheme.

To verify your site management rights:

  1. Log in to Yandex and add a site to Yandex.Webmaster.

  2. On Settings → Access rights, choose the verification method:

    Meta tag on the home page
    Add a special meta tag to the HTML code of the site's home page (in the head element).
    HTML file in the root directory
    Create an HTML file with a unique name and content we provide and place it in your site's root directory.
    TXT record in the DNS
    Add to the site's DNS records a TXT record containing the specified unique value.
    Email address from WHOIS data (not recommended)
    Note. This method is not available for RU, РФ, and some other domain zones.
    1. See what email address your domain is registered to. You can check this using WHOIS services.
    2. Confirm this email address in Yandex.Passport.
    3. In Yandex.Webmaster, the WHOIS tab, click Check.

You can get the site management rights from another user through rights delegation. The site rights can belong to several people. The list of users who have verified the rights is displayed in Settings → Access rights.

If you aren't able to use any of the methods listed, but you have a direct relation to the site, contact the coworker who is responsible for the site support.

Simplified verification of rights

To add the site and its subdomains to Yandex.Webmaster, verify the rights to the main domain using one of the methods (an HTML file, a meta tag, and so on). You can then verify the rights to subdomains using a code generated for the main domain. Here is an example of the rights verification using an HTML file:

  1. Add the main domain of the site in Yandex.Webmaster.
  2. Add the HTML file with the verification code generated in Yandex.Webmaster to the site's root directory.
  3. Add the site's subdomain to Yandex.Webmaster.
  4. Add the HTML file generated for the primary domain to the subdomain's root directory.

Similarly, you can verify the rights to a subdomain using a meta tag and a TXT record in the DNS.

Note. A simplified verification method can be used to verify the rights to a secondary mirror after verifying the rights to the main mirror. For more information about mirrors, see the What is a site mirror? section.

You can't use simplified verification of rights in the event of right delegation. Namely, if the main domain management rights were delegated to you by another user, you have to verify the management rights for each subdomain.

Changing the rights verification method

  1. In Yandex.Webmaster, go to the Access rights page and select the appropriate site.
  2. Click the Revoke rights button. Then select a new method and follow the instructions.

Delegating rights

After verifying the site management rights, you can transfer your rights to other Yandex.Webmaster users. The user you grant the rights to will have unrestricted access to all of the service features.

To transfer the rights:
  1. Go to the Settings → Access rights page.
  2. In the Delegate rights block, enter the username for the selected site.
  3. Click the Delegate rights button.
After your site is added to Yandex.Webmaster under the specified username, the site management rights of that user are confirmed automatically.

You can revoke the site management rights of another user. If you delegated the rights to another user and then your rights were revoked, this does not invalidate the rights of the other user.

Moving data to another account

To transfer information about a site in Yandex.Webmaster from one account to another:
  1. Log in to Yandex.Webmaster under the username you want to transfer the data to.
  2. Add the site and verify your rights to manage it.
The site information will be fully transferred from the old account to the new one.

Resetting another user's rights

The site rights can belong to several people. For example, it can be convenient if both the site owner and the webmaster want to track the site status.

To reset access rights:

  1. Delete the changes made to verify the rights, depending on the method:

    • Remove the <meta name="yandex-verification" content="код подтверждения"/> meta tag from the HTML code of the site's home page.
    • Remove the yandex_<verification code>.html HTML file from the root directory of the site.
    • Remove the yandex-verification: <verification code> record from DNS records.
    • Remove the email address used to verify the rights from the Email addresses page.
  2. In Yandex.Webmaster, go to Settings → Access rights.
  3. Click the Revoke rights button next to the user's username.

If you believe that access to the site was obtained by an attacker, use site protection guidelines.