You're reading Help for the Yandex app.
Help for the Yandex Start app on Android →

Manage personal data

For your convenience, the Yandex app saves some data, including autofill data or addresses of visited pages. You can delete this data.

Deleting data in the app

  1. On the home screen, tap  → App settings.

  2. Tap Clear data.

  3. Enable the necessary options:

    • Local history on device: Search queries and browsing history.
    • Search history on server: A list of your search queries.
    • Website data: Cookies (which may store your username, password, information about products that you added to the cart, and so on).
    • Cache: Copies of certain data (such as music, videos, or images) that help the page load faster when you revisit it, reducing network load.
    • Warnings for sites: If a site asks permission to perform an action (for example, run a plugin) and you select Always for this site, this action is performed by default in the future. After you clear the warning list, sites ask for permissions again.
    • Downloads: A list of files downloaded through the app.
  4. Tap Clear data.

Afterwards, this data will be deleted on the current device. If syncing is enabled, this data will be deleted from all your devices after a short while.

  1. On the home screen, tap  → App settings.

  2. Click Privacy.

  3. Select the option you need:

    • Clear history: Your search queries and visited pages.
    • Clear browser cache: Copies of certain data (such as music, videos, images) that help the page load faster when you revisit it, reducing network load.
    • Clear preview of open tabs: Preview of tabs opened in the app.
  4. Click Clear.

Managing personal data on Yandex services

When you use Yandex services, your data is saved in them. For example, your browsing history. We take the protection of this data seriously: our storage facilities comply with SOC 2, which is one of the most rigorous international security standards.

You can manage your personal data under Your data on Yandex.

  1. Go to Manage data and make sure that you're logged in with the correct Yandex ID.
  2. In the Services section, select the service.
  3. Under Download data, tap Request archive.

When the archive is ready, Yandex notifies you by email that you can download it. If you don't have a Yandex email, you have to check the archive loading status on the page.

To check an archive once it's ready:

  1. Go to Manage data and make sure that you're logged in with the correct Yandex ID.
  2. Under Data archives, tap Completed archives. There, you'll find your archive and the password to access its contents.

Note

The archive is in ZIP format. You can open it using 7-Zip.

  1. Go to Manage data and make sure that you're logged in with the correct Yandex ID.
  2. In the Services section, select the service.
  3. In the Clear data section, you will see a list with all types of data that Yandex stores for the selected service. Select the data you want to delete.
  4. Tap Delete selected.
  5. In the window that opens, click Delete data. If you change your mind about deleting the data, tap Cancel.

After deletion, almost all data immediately become unavailable. Yandex will store some types of data for a period of time as is required by law.

Alert

To prevent your contacts from re-syncing with Yandex servers, disable access to the contact book for the Yandex app in the device settings.

To learn more about managing your data, see Data on services in Yandex ID Help.

Go to the table of contents
Contact support