Bookmarks

Create bookmarks

  1. Open the page you want to add to bookmarks.
  2. On the right side of the SmartBox, click .
  3. In the dialog box that opens, select the appropriate folder and click Done.
    Tip. If you want to move a bookmark to a new folder, click Edit in the dialog box. In the window that opens, click New folder and move the folder if necessary. Click Save.

View bookmark list

  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. Select the bookmark folder from the list on the left.

If you synced your browser on different devices, folders named after the device (such as Smartphone or Tablet) will appear in the menu on the left. For more information, see the section Bookmarks on different devices.

If you imported tabs from a different browser, then the folderst that you moved will also appear in the menu on the left. Your folder names will remain the same. For more information, read the Import bookmarks section.

Bookmarks bar

Bookmarks and bookmark folders are displayed on the Bookmarks bar below the SmartBox.

There are several ways to enable and disable the bookmark panel:

Click   → Bookmarks → Show bookmarks bar.

Site favicons in the bookmarks bar

By default, the bookmarks bar only displays site names. You can opt to display favicons next to site names. If you want to save space in the bookmark bar, you can display the favicon without the site name.

To display favicons:

  1. Click   → Settings.

  2. In the Show bookmarks bar section, set the Show icons option.

If you want to only display the favicon on the bookmarks bar without the site name:

  1. Check the following:
    • The bookmark bar should be enabled
    • The Show icons option is enabled in settings.
  2. Find the bookmark in the bookmark panel.
  3. Open the context menu and select Edit.
  4. In the Bookmark window, clear the Name field.

Actions with bookmarks

If several people use your browser, create a personal profile for each of them. That other peoples' bookmarks won't display in your list.

Rename bookmarks
  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. Open the context menu for the bookmark and click Edit.

  3. Edit the bookmark name. If you want a website's favicon to display in the bookmark panel instead of its name, clear the bookmark name field.
Tip. If you want to rename a folder, right-click on it and select Rename. Edit folder names.
Delete bookmarks or folders
  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. Open the context menu for the bookmark or folder and click Delete.

Move bookmarks to new folders
  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. Hold your cursor on the bookmark you want to move.
  3. Move the bookmark to another folder by holding down your left mouse button.
Create a new folder
  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. On the right side of the page, click Organize.
  3. Select Add folder in the menu.
  4. Edit your folder names and press Enter.

Import bookmarks

Import bookmarks from another browser
  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Import bookmarks.
  2. In the Import bookmarks and settings window, choose the browser you want to import bookmarks from.
  3. Select the Favorites and bookmarks option (if you only want to import these settings, uncheck all the other options).
  4. Click the Import button. A window opens notifying you that your bookmarks were successfully imported.
  5. You can also select the option Always show the bookmarks bar option.
  6. Click Done.
Import bookmarks from an HTML file
  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the page, click Organize → Import bookmarks from HTML file.
  3. Enter the file containing your bookmarks and click Open.

Uploaded bookmarks will be imported to the Bookmarks from HTML file folder. You can rename, move or delete folders. For more information, see Actions with bookmarks.

Export bookmarks to files

  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the page, click Organize → Import bookmarks from HTML file.
  3. Select a place to save your bookmarks file.
  4. Enter a name for the file and click Save.

Syncing bookmarks

After syncing, your browser will display bookmarks from all of your other synced devices (computers, tablets, and smartphones).

Bookmark syncing features:

  • If you add or delete bookmarks on one device, then you will see these changes on your other devices as long as they are connected to the internet and you are logged into the same account on all of them.
  • If you create bookmarks for the same page on different devices, then the bookmark that synchronizes with the server first will be the one that is saved.
  • Bookmarks from devices of the same type are combined into one list. For example, if syncing is enabled on two computers and your smartphone, then you will see a Computer section in your smartphone bookmarks, which contains bookmarks from both computers.

To view bookmarks on a different device:

  1. Click   → Bookmarks → Bookmark manager.
  2. In the list of folders to the left, select a device.

To disable bookmark syncing:

  1. Click   → Syncing.
  2. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
  3. Disable the Bookmarks option.

After doing this, your bookmarks from other devices will not display in the Bookmark Manager.

Restore bookmarks after deleting them

To restore bookmarks that you recently deleted, check the date when changes were made to the Bookmarks.bak file in the C:\Users\Your account name\AppData\Local\Yandex\YandexBrowser\User Data\Default folder.

If changes were made on a date other than the current day:

  1. Move the Bookmarks file to another directory (such as your Desktop).
  2. Return the History file to the C:\Users\Your account name\AppData\Local\Yandex\YandexBrowser\User Data\Default directory.
  3. Rename the Bookmarks.bak file to Bookmarks.
  4. Restart the browser.

If you do all this correctly, your bookmarks will restore. If your bookmarks didn't restore, return the Bookmarks file to the directory. Use the feedback form to contact tech support about this issue.

Note. If the date when changes were made in the Bookmarks.bak file is the current day, then it is not possible to restore bookmarks.